Brinkman Lecture

Every year a special lecture, named after the founder of the Nijmgen ENT-department is prepared.
In 2024 prof. dr. Per Caye-Thomasen will present the Brinkman Lecture.
Title of his presentation: “Sparking the otologic knife – chasing genes, peaks and throughs”

Professor Per Caye-Thomasen is professor of Otology and Neurotology at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark. Ear and senior skull base surgeon, senior cochlear implant surgeon. He has surgical experience within the field +20 years, and extensive experience in basic and clinical research related to hearing and balance (+220 peer-reviewed papers).

Board Member Politzer Society and The Nordic Association of Otolaryngology (NOLF).

European Regional Secretary to IFOS Executive Committee.

Past-president of the Danish Society of Oto-rhino-laryngology, Head and Neck Surgery (DSOHH).

Past-president, The European Academy of Otology and Neurotology (EAONO).

President, Confederation of European ORL Societies (CEORL-HNS).


The presenters of this Brinkman Lecture are listed below:

Brinkman lecturers

 1985  Gordon Smyth  2004  Ulf Mercke
 1986  Michael Paparella  2005  Karl-Bernd Hüttenbrink
 1987  Michel Portmann  2006  Thomas Lenarz
 1988  Jacob Sadé  2007  Patrice Tran Ba Huy
 1989  Dietrich Plester  2008  John Niparko
 1990  Carl-Rudolf Pfaltz  2008  Anders Tjellström
 1991  Adolf Mielhke  2009  Gerard O’Donoghue
 1992  Christian Deguine  2010  Bruce Gantz
 1993  Ugo Fisch  2011  Michael Gleeson
 1994  Malte Wigand  2012  Mario Sanna
 1995  Derald Brackmann  2013  Richard Ramsden
 1996  Jacques Magnan  2014  Thomas Linder
 1997  George Browning  2015  Jef Mulder
 1998  Mirko Tos  2016  Anne Schilder
 1999  Robert A. Jahrsdoerfer  2017  Robert Vincent
 2000  Paul van den Broek  2018  Antje Aschendorff
 2001  Noel Cohen  2019  Erwin Offeciers
 2002  David A. Moffat  2020  Matthew Yung
 2003  Alan G. Kerr  2023  Catherine Birman